Dr. Ron Mattis awarded Chairs’ Faculty Teaching Award at Pitt-Bradford

1pitt-ron-mattis-mdhghfdjd75gjnd7gydBRADFORD, Pa. Dr. Ronald Mattis, associate professor of engineering, has received the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford’s 2015 Chairs’ Faculty Teaching Award for excellence in teaching.

“Over his nearly 30 years of service on our campus, Ron has proven himself to be a dedicated and talented teacher,” said Dr. Yong-Zhou Chen, professor of mathematics, who nominated Mattis for the award.

Mattis was chosen for the award by the chairmen and chairwoman of Pitt-Bradford’s five academic divisions.

In choosing an award recipient, the chairpersons review letters of recommendation, student evaluations of teaching, syllabi and grade distribution. They also consider the teachers’ knowledge of subject matter and their advising and dedication in working with students beyond the classroom in activities such as internships and research projects.

The award, which is now in its 14th year, is open to any full-time faculty member who has taught at Pitt-Bradford for at least three consecutive academic years.
“Ron’s teaching evaluations are always well above the Engineering School mean,” Chen said. “He always pays attention to students’ understanding of the material, problem-solving ability and class participation.”

Chen noted that Mattis focuses his professional development on engineering education, spends a large amount of time with students discussing career options and co-op programs.

As director of the two-year engineering program, Mattis helps students find internship opportunities and assists them in transferring to the university’s Pittsburgh campus for the completion of their program. He regularly communicates with the engineering school in Pittsburgh to coordinate the engineering program and keep its curriculum up-to-date.

Mattis has taught at Pitt-Bradford since 1985. He was a W.C. Foster Fellows Visiting Fellow at the U.S. Department of State Verification and Compliance Bureau, Office of Nuclear Affairs, and has served as a consultant for the department.

He earned his doctorate in nuclear engineering at Penn State University in 1991 and his Master of Science in nuclear engineering from the University of Michigan in 1979.

He lives in Kane. In his free time, he enjoys mountain biking, cross-country skiing, weight training and reading.

Past recipients of the Chairs’ Faculty Teaching Award are Dr. Flora Wei, Dr. Francis Mulcahy, Dr. Tammy Haley, Isabelle Champlin, Dr. Hashim Yousif, Dr. Jean Truman, Andrea Robbins, Dr. Helene Lawson, Dr. Joanne Burgert, Dr. Nancy McCabe, Donald Lewicki, Dr. Donald Ulin and Dr. Lauren Yaich.

Posted by on Apr 16 2015. Filed under Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login


Enter your email address:



   - CoudyNews
   - 1490 News Blog
   - WESB.com
   - BradfordPA.us Newswire
   - Solomon's Words
   - The Bradford Era


   - Allegheny Defense Project
   - Friends of Allegheny Wild
   - Save Our Streams Pa

   Pennsylvania Facts

   - PA is the Keystone State.
   - PA Capitol is Harrisburg
   - Settled in 1643
   - PA Bird: Ruffed Grouse
   - Tree is the Hemlock
   - Flower: Mountain Laurel
   - PA has 116 State Parks

© 2004-2021 Bradford PA Today. News & Information. All rights reserved.

Bradford PA Portal | PennsNews | Free Web Hosting